BATON ROUGE, Louisiana, March 13,2014 — At a ceremony at the Shaw Center on Thursday, March 13, the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) recognized 24 two-year college honor students who have been named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Louisiana Academic Team.

Among those honored, were Northwest Louisiana Technical College students Renee Wallace and Luke Adams. Renee is a student in the Business Office Administration program at the Sabine Valley Campus and Luke is enrolled in the Industrial Instrumentation program at the Minden Campus. Both students maintain a perfect 4.0 grade point average while also serving their campuses as president of their respective Student Government Associations.

The students named to the All-Louisiana Academic Team were nominated by the NWLTC Phi Theta Kappa Advisor, Mrs. Laurie Morrow, on the basis of academic performance, leadership accomplishments, and service to their colleges and to their local communities. “These students will now participate in the annual All-USA Academic Team competition”, said Morrow. “The USA Today, the American Association of Community Colleges, and Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor Society of the Two-Year College, sponsor this annual competition.”

The students named to the All-Louisiana Academic Team join an elite group. Less than one percent of America’s six million two-year college students have distinguished themselves with this superior level of academic achievement and service to their colleges and communities.


Left: Renee Wallace
Right: Luke Adams


“Receiving this award has given me a feeling of pride and a great sense of accomplishment. I always knew working hard had its own rewards. Being acknowledged for that hard work with such a great honor is an inspiration to me. I can only hope the joy this award brings to me is an inspiration to my daughter and my fellow students here at Northwest Louisiana Technical College-Sabine Valley Campus to work for the goals they have set for their life and push forth just a little more.”


Founded in 1936, Northwest Louisiana Technical College is a member of the Louisiana Community and Technical College System. The main campus is located in Minden and other campuses operate in Mansfield, Many, Natchitoches, and Shreveport. NWLTC was recently recognized by the Aspen Institute as one of the nation’s top two-year colleges. For more information about NWLTC and its programs, visit or contact Dr. Rick Bateman, Jr. at:


Dr. Rick Bateman, Jr., Ph.D.
Interim Director, NWLTC